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SECTION 47 - P240 - DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

 

47.11 AMEND  (Triploid Grass Carp)  Prohibits water recreation funds or any other funding source 

from being used to stock triploid grass carp in Lakes Marion and Moultrie. 

 SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  AMEND proviso to change “Fiscal Year 2017-

18” to “the current fiscal year.” 

 

 47.11. (DNR: Triploid Grass Carp)  For Fiscal Year 2017-18 the current fiscal year, no 

water recreation funds or any other funding source may be used to fund the stocking of triploid 

grass carp on Lake Marion and Lake Moultrie. 

 

SECTION 53 - P40-S.C. CONSERVATION BANK 

 

53.1 AMEND  (Conservation Bank Trust Fund)  Suspends the requirement that the South Carolina 

Conservation Bank receive all revenues designated for it under Section 12-24-95 [STATE DEED 

RECORDING FEE CREDITED TO SOUTH CAROLINA CONSERVATION BANK TRUST FUND]. 
SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  AMEND proviso to update fiscal year reference 

from “2017-18” to “2018-19.” 

 

 53.1. (CB: Conservation Bank Trust Fund)  For Fiscal Year 2017-18 2018-19, the 

provisions of Section 12-24-95 of the 1976 Code are suspended. 

 

SECTION 59 - E200 - OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 

 

59.vwp ADD  (Victim/Witness Program Formula Distribution)  SUBCOMMITTEE 

RECOMMENDATION:  ADD new proviso to require the first $650,000 of any excess funds 

in the SC Victims’ Compensation Fund be used for Victim/Witness programs.  Responsibility 

was transferred per Act 96 of 2017 to the Attorney General’s Office. 

 

 59.vwp. (AG: Victim/Witness Program Formula Distribution)  If funds in the South Carolina 

Victims’ Compensation Fund exceed the amount required to operate the State Crime Victim 

Compensation Department and pay claims of crime victims, the first $650,000 of such excess 

must be used for Victim/Witness programs by distribution to Judicial Circuits based on a formula 

and criteria developed by the policy committee, and otherwise subject to requirements of Proviso 

60.8. 

 

59.pae ADD  (Physical Abuse Examinations)  SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  ADD 

new proviso to authorize up to $120,000 of funds appropriated for Victims’ Rights to be expended 

for physical abuse exams.  Responsibility was transferred per Act 96 of 2017 to the Attorney 

General’s Office. 

 

 59.pae. (AG: Physical Abuse Examinations)  Of the funds appropriated in this section for 

Victims’ Rights, up to $120,000 may be expended for physical abuse examinations. 

 

59.ps ADD  (Procuring Services)  SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  ADD new proviso 

to require the Office of Victims’ Assistance to follow state procurement procedures when hiring 

outside entities in order to maximize services for victims.  Require contracting entities to submit 

an annual report by August 1 detailing expenditures from the prior fiscal year.  Direct the 

Attorney General’s Office to transfer funds from the Victims’ Compensation Fund and to use 

general funds appropriated for Victims’ Assistance to pay for any contracts or services procured 
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and specifies the amount to be used/transferred.  Responsibility was transferred per Act 96 of 

2017 to the Attorney General’s Office. 

 

 59.ps. (AG: Procuring Services)  In order to maximize services for victims of crime, if the 

fulfilling of requirements pursuant to Section 16-3-1410 of the 1976 Code, necessitates hiring 

any outside entities, the State Crime Victim Compensation Department must follow procedures 

established by the SC Consolidated Procurement Code.  Any entity contracting with the agency 

will submit an annual report by August first to the Governor’s Office and to the Chairmen of the 

Senate Finance Committee and House Ways and Means Committee detailing expenditures from 

the prior fiscal year in accordance with the State Office of Victims’ Assistance.  The Attorney 

General’s Office is directed to transfer $122,032 of the funds carried forward from the prior 

fiscal year in the Victims’ Compensation Fund, and up to $41,892 from general funds from 

Victim’s Assistance to pay for any contracts or services procured. 

 

59.cvo ADD  (Crime Victims Ombudsman)  SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  ADD new 

proviso to direct the State Crime Victim Compensation Department to transfer $116,000 to the 

Crime Victims Ombudsman’s Office for administrative and operations support.  Responsibility 

was transferred per Act 96 of 2017 to the Attorney General’s Office. 

 

 59.cvo. (AG: Crime Victims Ombudsman)  For the current fiscal year, the State Crime Victim 

Compensation Department shall transfer $116,000 to the Crime Victims Ombudsman’s Office to 

be used for administrative and operational support. 

 

59.vcd ADD  (State Crime Victim Compensation Department)  SUBCOMMITTEE 

RECOMMENDATION:  ADD new proviso to authorize the State Crime Victim Compensation 

Department to enter into MOA with third-party victim service providers for emergency medical, 

transportation, or other crisis stabilization services on a reimbursable basis and require a report 

be submitted annually by October 1st to the Governor and the Chairmen of the Senate Finance 

and House Ways and Means Committees on the performance of the providers and the use of 

funds.  Responsibility was transferred per Act 96 of 2017 to the Attorney General’s Office. 

 

 59.vcd. (AG: State Crime Victim Compensation Department)  For the current fiscal year, 

The State Crime Victim Compensation Department may enter into memoranda of agreement with 

third-party victim service providers to secure emergency medical, transportation, or other crisis 

stabilization services on a reimbursable basis.  Such agreements shall not allow for more than 

eight percent of the total reimbursement to cover a provider’s administrative, marketing, and 

advocacy costs.  Annually, and no later than October first of each year, the State Crime Victim 

Compensation Department shall report to the Governor, the Chairman of the Senate Finance 

Committee, and the Chairman of House Ways and Means Committee on the performance of 

third-party providers and the use of funds authorized pursuant to this provision in the prior fiscal 

year. 

 

59.cvc ADD  (State Crime Victim Compensation)  SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  

ADD new proviso to authorize a county or municipality to retain up to $25,000 or 10% of the 

funds collected in the prior fiscal year, whichever is higher, pursuant to certain code sections 

pertaining to the additional assessment authorized in general sessions, family, magistrate, and 

municipal courts.  Direct that if a county or municipality does not spend at least 90% of these 

funds on specific crime victims’ services during the fiscal year the funds are received, any funds 

that exceed that amount authorized to be carried forward must be remitted to the State Victim 

Assistance Program.  Direct the State Crime Victim Compensation Department to annually offer 

training and technical assistance on the acceptable use of the funds.  Authorize the State Crime 
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Victim Compensation Department to transfer any state funds under their authority to the State 

Victim Assistance Program for placement in the competitive bid process.  Direct the State Victim 

Assistance Program to offer remitted funds to non-profits that provide direct victim services on 

a competitive bid process.  Responsibility was transferred per Act 96 of 2017 to the Attorney 

General’s Office. 

 

 59.cvc. (AG: State Crime Victim Compensation)  A county or municipality may retain carry 

forward funds that were collected pursuant to Sections 14-1-206 (B) and (D), 14-1-207 (B) and 

(D), 14-1-208 (B) and (D), and 14-1-211 (B) of the 1976 Code, but no more than $25,000 or ten 

percent of funds collected in the prior fiscal year, whichever is higher.  If a county or municipality 

does not spend at least ninety percent of the funds collected pursuant to Sections 14-1-206 (B) 

and (D), 14-1-207 (B) and (D), 14-1-208 (B) and (D), and 14-1-211 (B) on Article 16, Chapter 

3, Title 16 first priority and/or second priority programs during the fiscal year that the funds are 

received then the county or municipality shall remit any unspent funds that are greater than the 

allowed carried forward funds, regardless of the year collected, to the State Victim Assistance 

Program (SVAP) with the Office of the Attorney General within 120 days after the end of the 

fiscal year.  All funds must be accounted for in the annual audit for each county or municipality. 

 The State Crime Victim Compensation Department shall offer training and technical 

assistance to each municipality and county annually on acceptable use of both priority one and 

priority two funds and funds available for competitive bid. 

 The State Crime Victim Compensation Department is authorized to transfer to the State 

Victim Assistance Program any state funds deemed available under Crime Victims Compensation 

authority  to the State Victim Assistance Programs be placed in the competitive bid process. 

 The State Victim Assistance Program shall offer any funds remitted to it to non-profit 

organizations that provide direct victim services on a competitive bid process.  These funds may 

be used by the non-profit for administrative costs and victim services. 

 

59.cvtcsa ADD  (Crime Victim Training Certification and Statistical Analysis)  SUBCOMMITTEE 

RECOMMENDATION:  ADD new proviso to authorize the Attorney General’s Office to use 

$75,000 of the State Crime Victim Compensation Fund to support the State Crime Victim 

Training, Certification and Statistical Analysis Division. 

 

 59.cvtcsa.(AG: Crime Victim Training Certification and Statistical Analysis)  Of the funds 

appropriated and/or authorized for the State Crime Victim Compensation Fund, $75,000 may be 

used to support the State Crime Victim Training, Certification and Statistical Analysis Division.  

 

59.fbc ADD  (Crime Victim Services Funeral and Burial Compensation)  SUBCOMMITTEE 

RECOMMENDATION:  ADD new proviso to direct the Department of Crime Victim 

Compensation to set a $6,500 threshold for funeral and burial compensation. 

 

 59.fbc. (AG: Crime Victim Services Funeral and Burial Compensation) The Department of 

Crime Victim Compensation shall set the funeral and burial compensation threshold at $6,500. 
 

SECTION 63 - K050 - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

63.4 DELETE  (Sale of Real Property)  Authorizes DPS, DOT, and DMV to receive and expend 

funds received from the sale of property in Greenville. 

 SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  DELETE proviso.  Agency states the Laurens 

Road property in Greenville was sold in FY 2016-17 and the proceeds were distributed to DPS, 

DOT and DMV.  Requested by Department of Public Safety. 
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 63.4. (DPS: Sale of Real Property)  At such time as any portion of the Laurens Road 

property in Greenville is declared to be surplus by the agency or agencies which occupy said 

portion, and after receiving approval from the Department of Administration or State Fiscal 

Accountability Authority, for the sale of the property, the Department of Public Safety, the 

Department of Transportation, and the Department of Motor Vehicles are authorized to receive, 

retain, expend, and carry forward funds derived from the sale of the real property in which each 

agency holds an interest or title.  No portion of the property may be declared as surplus by one 

agency if another agency is occupying said property.  The Department of Public Safety is directed 

to use these funds to defray the operating expenses of the Highway Patrol and the Department of 

Transportation and the Department of Motor Vehicles are directed to use their portion of these 

funds for department operating expenses. 

 

63.8 AMEND  (Overtime Pay)  Requires the department to pay current non-exempt law enforcement 

officers, by October 1, for any comp time earned and not used in the prior fiscal year.  Directs 

the department to use personal services and/or employer contributions carried forward funds for 

this purpose.  Directs that if the department does not have enough carry forward funds to pay all 

accrued comp time, they shall pay officers on a percentage distribution based on the hours owed 

per officer up to the total amount of funds carried forward. 

 SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  AMEND proviso to change “Fiscal Year 2017-

18” to “the current fiscal year.” 

 

 63.8. (DPS: Overtime Pay)  For Fiscal Year 2017-18 the current fiscal year, the 

department is authorized and required to pay current non-exempt law enforcement officers by 

October first for any compensatory time earned and not used in the prior fiscal year.  The funds 

for this compensation must be provided from available personal services and/or employer 

contributions funds carried forward from the prior fiscal year.  If the amount of carried forward 

funds is not sufficient to pay all the non-exempt law enforcement officers accrued compensatory 

time, the agency shall pay the officers on a percentage distribution based on the hours owed per 

officer up to the total amount that the agency has carried forward. 

 

SECTION 110 - R520 - STATE ETHICS COMMISSION 

 

110.cm. ADD  (Commission Meeting)  SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  ADD new 

proviso to instruct the commission to meet at least once a month and post 24 hours advance 

meeting notice on the agency website. 

 

 110.cm. (ETHICS: Commission Meeting)  The Ethics Commission must meet at least one time 

each month and post notice of meeting at least twenty-four hours in advance on the agency 

website. 

 

SECTION 117 - X900 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

117.51 AMEND  (Assessment Audit / Crime Victim Funds)  Requires the State Auditor to notify the 

State Office of Victim Assistance if the Auditor’s Office finds any county or municipal treasurer, 

county clerk of court, magistrate or municipal court has not properly allocated revenue from court 

fines, fines, and assessments to the crime victim funds or if they have not properly spent those 

funds. 

 SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  AMEND proviso to change the “Office of 

Victim Assistance” references to “Department of Crime Victim Compensation.”  Responsibility 

was transferred per Act 96 of 2017 to the Attorney General’s Office. 
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 117.51. (GP: Assessment Audit / Crime Victim Funds)  If the State Auditor finds that any 

county treasurer, municipal treasurer, county clerk of court, magistrate, or municipal court has 

not properly allocated revenue generated from court fines, fines, and assessments to the crime 

victim funds or has not properly expended crime victim funds, pursuant to Sections 14-1-206(B) 

and (D), 14-1-207(B) and (D), 14-1-208(B) and (D), and 14-1-211(B) of the 1976 Code, the State 

Auditor shall notify the State Office of Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim 

Compensation.  The State Office of Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim 

Compensation is authorized to conduct an audit which shall include both a programmatic review 

and financial audit of any entity or nonprofit organization receiving victim assistance funding 

based on the referrals from the State Auditor or complaints of a specific nature received by the 

State Office of Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim Compensation to ensure that 

crime victim funds are expended in accordance with the law.  Guidelines for the expenditure of 

these funds shall be developed by the Victim Services Coordinating Council.  The Victim 

Services Coordinating Council shall develop these guidelines to ensure any expenditure which 

meets the parameters of Article 15, Chapter 3, Title 16 is an allowable expenditure.  Any local 

entity or nonprofit organization that receives funding from revenue generated from crime victim 

funds is required to submit their budget for the expenditure of these funds to the State Office of 

Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim Compensation within thirty days of the budget’s 

approval by the governing body of the entity or nonprofit organization.  Failure to comply with 

this provision shall cause the State Office of Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim 

Compensation to initiate a programmatic review and a financial audit of the entity’s or nonprofit 

organization’s expenditures of victim assistance funds.  Additionally, the Office of Victim 

Assistance Department of Crime Victim Compensation will place the name of the noncompliant 

entity or nonprofit organization on their website where it shall remain until such time as they are 

in compliance with the terms of this proviso.  Any entity or nonprofit organization receiving 

victim assistance funding must cooperate and provide expenditure/program data requested by the 

State Office of Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim Compensation.  If the State Office 

of Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim Compensation finds an error, the entity or 

nonprofit organization has ninety days to rectify the error.  An error constitutes an entity or 

nonprofit organization spending victim assistance funding on unauthorized items as determined 

by the State Office of Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim Compensation.  If the entity 

or nonprofit organization fails to cooperate with the programmatic review and financial audit or 

to rectify the error within ninety days, the State Office of Victim Assistance Department of Crime 

Victim Compensation shall assess and collect a penalty in the amount of the unauthorized 

expenditure plus $1,500 against the entity or nonprofit organization for improper 

expenditures.  This penalty plus $1,500 must be paid within thirty days of the notification by 

the State Office of Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim Compensation to the entity 

or nonprofit organization that they are in noncompliance with the provisions of this proviso.  

All penalties received by the State Office of Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim 

Compensation shall be credited to the General Fund of the State.  If the penalty is not received 

by the State Office of Victim Assistance Department of Crime Victim Compensation within thirty 

days of the notification, the political subdivision will deduct the amount of the penalty from the 

entity or nonprofit organization’s subsequent fiscal year appropriation. 

 

117.94 AMEND  (Victims Assistance Transfer)  Requires the Department of Corrections to transfer 

$20,500 monthly to DPS for distribution through the State Victim Assistance Program. 

 SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  AMEND proviso to replace “Department of 

Public Safety” with “Office of Attorney General.”  Responsibility was transferred per Act 96 of 

2017 to the Attorney General’s Office. 
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 117.94. (GP: Victims Assistance Transfer)  The Department of Corrections shall transfer 

$20,500 each month to the Department of Public Safety Office of Attorney General for 

distribution through the State Victims Assistance Program. 

 

117.124 AMEND  (Retail Facilities Revitalization Act Repeal Suspension)  Suspends the repeal of 

Chapter 34 of Title 6 [RETAIL FACILITIES REVITALIZATION ACT] as specified in Act 285 of 2006 for 

sites that provided DOR written notification of election of mode of credit before 7/1/16 and for 

which a building permit was issued prior to 7/1/16. 

 SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  AMEND proviso update fiscal year reference 

from “2017-18” to “2018-19.” 

 

 117.124.(GP: Retail Facilities Revitalization Act Repeal Suspension)  The repeal of Chapter 

34 of Title 6 of the 1976 Code as specified in Act 285 of 2006 as to sites for which written 

notification of election of mode of credit has been provided to the Department of Revenue prior 

to July 1, 2016 and for which a building permit has been issued prior to July 1, 2016, is suspended 

for Fiscal Year 2017-18 2018-19. 

 

117.136 DELETE  (Indigent Defense Screening Review)  Directs the Commission on Indigent Defense 

and the Judicial Department Court Administration Program to consult with the Summary Court 

Judges’ Association and Clerks of Court Association on screening indigent defense applications.  

Directs the Commission on Indigent Defense and Court Administration to make 

recommendations to the Chairmen of the House Ways and Means, House Judiciary, Senate 

Finance and Senate Judiciary Committees no later than December 1, 2017, regarding the 

applicant screening process. 

 SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:  DELETE proviso.  

 

 117.136.(GP: Indigent Defense Screening Review)  The Commission on Indigent Defense 

and the Judicial Department Court Administration Program shall consult with the Summary 

Court Judges’ Association and Clerks of Court Association on issues regarding the screening of 

applicants for indigent defense representation.  The Commission on Indigent Defense and Court 

Administration shall make recommendations to the Chairman of the House Ways and Means 

Committee, the Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee, the Chairman of the Senate Finance 

Committee, and the Chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee no later than December 1, 2017 

regarding:  requirements for applicants to verify their financial status, supporting documentation 

that should be required of all applicants; who should conduct the screening, what resources are 

necessary to properly screen applicants and any other recommendations that will assist in 

ensuring only those applicants that are truly indigent qualify for the services of a public defender 

or other appointed counsel. 

 


